Why Squamish?

Squamish is a town based in British Columbia, Canada about an hour outside of Vancouver on the Sea to Sky Highway.  It is well known for its huge granite cliffs, sought out by climbers around the world, and also boasts some of the most beautiful trail running in the western side of the globe with views into the mountains and out to the sea.

At a young age I visited Canada, spending a few days of this in Squamish, I fell in love with the place hoping to return one day to see more of it. Since then seventeen years has passed and a lot has changed, especially my passion for running and the outdoors; but the memories are starting to fade of this place. I wanted to come back to this part of the world to experience running on the trails myself and explore fully what the area has to offer as a runner.

After watching Ginger Runner’s account of the Squamish 50 online I was filled with excitement and decided what would be better than to go back to Squamish and take part in this race which hold so many memories for me of my past travels. The Squamish 50 is a notoriously tough race series in a truly unforgettable environment. It boats over 90% single-track and more than 11,000 feet of climbing and descent, topped off by stunning sweeping vistas across glaciated snow capped peaks that jut straight out of the Pacific Ocean. Why wouldn’t you want to race here? (Other than the bears and coyotes of course.)

I have raced internationally a few times before but nothing this far afield out of Europe. After getting my savings together and a year or two of trail running races under my belt and a third place female finish in my last race, at Maverick X Series, Yorkshire Dales, I decided it was time to return to Canada. The trails here will be different to anything I have raced on before, but the technical descents and dusty ground from Transvulcania should prove a pretty good base; as should my last trip training in Chamonix.

After booking my flights and starting to prepare for my trip I was lucky enough to be invited by inov-8 to be part of five people taking on #getagrip challenges in America and Canada over the next few months. Their support will provide crucial in the last few months before the trip, kitting me out with the essentials to ensure my race goes as smoothly as possible. I am excited for the adventure ahead and what working with such a great brand such as inov-8 has to offer!

Follow my journey on here as the 6 week countdown continues!

 

Leave a Reply

